New wordpress version is up!

Discussion in 'General Webmaster Chat' started by Iearn-Money, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. Iearn-Money Qdoos Contributor

    Iearn-Money
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Iearn-Money.Com
    Hello,

    Well just wanted to inform you people that a new version of wordpress is up on their website, version 2.6

    I'll be upgrading my blog a little bit later, I'll test it and give you my opinions later!

    Regards,
    Iearn-Money
  2. Similar Threads: wordpress version
    Forum Title Date
    General Webmaster Chat How To - Move From WordPress.com Or Blogger To WordPress.org Jan 24, 2009
    General Webmaster Chat Blogger vs WordPress | Read My Honest Review | A Point By Point Comparision Aug 5, 2008

  3. Ramage Not Active

    Ramage
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    videoshowscript.com
    Serious? Man I hate having to update my wordpress (yeah I'm THAT lazy :p) since I cant get the automatic update plugin to work.. I'll try again tomorrow, thanks for the heads up!
  4. Fuzzer Qdoos Contributor

    Fuzzer
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,223
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for letting us know, any new features ? or is it just security patches ?
  5. Asad Qdoos Contributor

    Asad
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    WebSack.net
    Wow... Where can I see that Automatic Update link??
    Asad,
  6. Iearn-Money Qdoos Contributor

    Iearn-Money
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Iearn-Money.Com
    Actually it's for your own safety to uptade your website, I don't think any script has an automatic uptade as you need to upload files...

    It's still in beta, I prefer to no install it now because I saw some bugs there, such as error 404 on posts, permalinks doesn't work...
    For the uptades and new features check them out here
    WordPress › Blog ? WordPress 2.6

    I found a link in the admin control panel, but I don't think it's an auto uptade I even didn't click on it lol
  7. Asad Qdoos Contributor

    Asad
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    WebSack.net
    I am unable to see that. However, I will not update right now. Lets see for some reviews first :)
    Asad,
  8. hitman Qdoos Contributor

    hitman
    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    6
    well, i rpobably wont upgrade this time, maybe in afew upgrades time

    what extra stuff have they added?
  9. Iearn-Money Qdoos Contributor

    Iearn-Money
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Iearn-Money.Com
  10. Asad Qdoos Contributor

    Asad
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    WebSack.net
    I have got the link in Admin panel. But, where is the automatic Update link???
    Asad,
  11. Iearn-Money Qdoos Contributor

    Iearn-Money
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Iearn-Money.Com
    There isn't any automatic uptade link, we were just talking if it does exist but it doesn't, to upgrade your wordpress version

    1. Delete your old WP files, saving ones you've modified.
    2. Upload the new files.
    3. Point your browser to /wp-admin/upgrade.php.
  12. Asad Qdoos Contributor

    Asad
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    WebSack.net
    Oh! Thanks! But, I guess some plug ins might not work with this version. I also think that we shouldn't go ahead before we see some reviews.

    So, I am not going to upgrade! :laugh:
    Asad,
  13. hitman Qdoos Contributor

    hitman
    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    6
    LOL, looks to me like they just added a preview option to templates, and an access your site anywhere on the web.... well i just type the address into the address bar to do that dont i?
  14. Iearn-Money Qdoos Contributor

    Iearn-Money
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Iearn-Money.Com
    Well it still a new feature in the script, however there must be some bugs & backdoors fixed, but as I said I won't upgrade until the final release comes up!
  15. hitman Qdoos Contributor

    hitman
    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    6
    im not upgrading because of bugs, im just too lazy tgo install it for a few minor changes that oi probably wont use
  16. Iearn-Money Qdoos Contributor

    Iearn-Money
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,147
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Iearn-Money.Com
    It's for your own safety to upgrade due to bugs, they are more imprtant than new features, but better wait for the last release!

Share This Page